Crowdsourcing translation - debunking myths

Crowdsourcing translation - debunking myths

Back in late 2007, this translation agency published a report called «Collaborative Translation», which pointed out the need to harness so-called collective intelligence in the translation field. The initiative was given the clever term «Crowdsourcing». Its essence is that a translation task is performed by a group of specialists, not just one person. In this case, the matter is not limited to the field of translation, but extends to any creative projects, such as developing a new idea or technology, the collection and processing of large amounts of data (statistical or industrial), and so on.

The agency’s initiative was supported by the well-known social network LinkedIn, although in discussions there were two polar camps of opinion: some laughed at the idea of CT3, and others took it seriously. Nearly two years of debates and discussions (2007-2008) resulted in some myths about crowdsourcing, especially among translators. Today, we debunk them.

If you have any questions, you can reach us by phone:
+375 44 768-02-88
+375 29 257-14-58
You can find out our prices in the Prices section.

Myth 2 You always have to pay for your translation

Oh, this myth is very popular, especially among beginner freelance translators. It often omits important aspects of the process, such as a high level of professionalism, literacy and compliance of the text with the client’s requirements.  Working together on a translation is sometimes more successful than working with a single translator. Why is that? Because in crowdsourcing, the concepts of post-editing, proofreading and correcting semantic and terminology errors are built into the process. Add to this the higher speed of translation by a team rather than by one person. Thus, payment for a collective translation product is more likely to be received than for an individual translation, because it almost always requires revision by an editor.

MYTH 3 Crowdsourcing is a panacea for all occasions

Again, it’s not so obvious. In addition to its obvious benefits, CT3 has its drawbacks. The main drawback is the heterogeneous nature of the participants and the need to have well-established processes (i.e. the proper distribution of roles within a team). For instance, in technical translation, it is unlikely that CT3 is used. A clear alignment with the customer’s terminology requirements is required, and a flight of fancy can lead to the opposite result. Sure, if a highly specialized team works specifically on the subject matter, the resulting texts will be great. But what about finding so many professionals, gathering them together, assigning them tasks and controlling their work process? Only multinational companies, which are able to provide adequate working and pay conditions, can do that. An important factor is confidentiality of translations. When teams are working together, secrets cannot be kept, but what if, for instance, a patent application for a brand new technology is involved? It is understandable that the client is not interested in publicity until after the patent is granted.

Literary translation
The complexity of literary translation lies in the fact that it is necessary not only to convey the meaning of the text, but also to preserve the uniqueness of the author's style.
Литературный перевод
Foreign languages ​​and their impact on income
The knowledge of additional languages increases job applicants' salaries by up to 48%. So which language is worth learning?
Делай деньги
The new politically correct language
In Europe, there was a proposal to replace some gender terms with more politically correct words. Christian names and the word "Christmas" were discussed.
Штаб-квартира Еврокомиссии
Texas eliminates English as an official language
The city of Fermes Branch, Texas, has repealed a law recognising English as an official language.
Флаги Штата Техас и США
Apostille affixing for the legalization of documents
The procedure means obtaining a special stamp - an apostille. He, in turn, confirms the authenticity of the document, its signatures and seals.
Проставление апостиля
group-2
group
group-3
group-4
group-6
group-8
group-7
group-9
group-10
group-5
group-copy-31
group-copy-32
group-copy-33
group-copy-34
group-copy-37
group-copy-39
group-copy-40
group-copy-41
group-copy-52
group-copy-30

Краудсорсинговый перевод – развенчание мифов

Краудсорсинговый перевод – развенчание мифов

Еще в конце 2007 года это агентство переводов опубликовало отчет под названием “Совместный перевод”, в котором отмечалась необходимость задействовать так называемый коллективный разум в переводческих сферах. Инициатива была названа мудреным термином “Краудсорсинг” ( букв. англ. “коллективные усилия”). Суть его в том, что переводческая задача исполняется группой специалистов, а не кем-то одним. При этом дело не ограничивается только сферой переводов, но распространяется на любые творческие проекты, например, разработку новой идеи или технологии, сбор и обработку больших массивов данных (статистических или промышленных) и т.п.

Инициатива агентства получила поддержку известной социальной сети LinkedIn, хотя при ее обсуждении возникли два полярных лагеря мнений: кто-то смеялся над идеей СТ3, а кто-то принимал ее всерьез. В результате почти двухгодичных споров и обсуждений (2007-2008) возникло несколько мифов о краудсорсинге, особенно среди переводчиков. Сегодня мы их развенчаем.

 По всем вопросам, вы может проконсультироваться по телефону:
+375 44 768-02-88
+375 29 257-14-58
Стоимость услуг вы можете узнать в разделе Цены

МИФ 2 Сделанный перевод всегда надо оплачивать

О, этот миф очень любим особенно в среде начинающих переводчиков-фрилансеров. При этом часто опускаются такие содержащие этого процесса, как профессионально высокий уровень конечного продукта, грамотность и соответствие текста требованиям заказчика.  Коллективная работа над переводом иногда бывает успешнее работы одного переводчика. Почему? Потому что при краудсорсинге понятие постредактирования, вычитки и исправления смысловых или терминологических ошибок органично входит в рабочий процесс. Прибавьте сюда большую скорость перевода коллективом, чем одним человеком. Итак, оплата за коллективный продукт перевода скорее поступит, чем за индивидуальный перевод, потому что он почти всегда требует доработки редактором.

МИФ 3 Краудсорсинг – панацея на все случаи жизни

И здесь не все так очевидно. При своих несомненных преимуществах СТ3 обладает и недостатками. Главный из них – разнородность участников перевода и необходимость четко налаженных процессов (то есть правильного распределения ролей внутри коллектива). Например, в сфере технического перевода применение СТ3 представляется маловероятным. Здесь требуется четкое соответствие терминологическим требованиям заказчика, и полет творческой мысли может привести к противоположным результатам. Конечно, если группа специалистов узкого профиля работает именно в предметной отрасли перевода, результирующие тексты будут великолепными. Но попробуйте в жизни найти стольких профессионалов, собрать их вместе, раздать задачи и контролировать процесс работы. Это под силу лишь транснациональным компаниям, которые способны обеспечивать адекватные условия труда и оплаты. Немаловажный фактор – конфиденциальность перевода. При коллективной работе секреты сохранить невозможно, а если, к примеру, речь идет о патентной заявке на совершенно новую технологию? Понятно, что заказчик не заинтересован в гласности до момента получения патента.

Художественный перевод
Сложность художественного перевода заключается в том, что необходимо не просто передать смысл текста, но и сохранить уникальность авторского стиля.
Литературный перевод
Иностранные языки и их влияние на доходы
Знание дополнительных языков повышает зарплату соискателей порой на 48%. Так какой язык стоит учить?
Делай деньги
Удивительные факты о китайском языке
Китайский язык набирает популярность для изучения. Что еще нужно знать об интереснейшем языке?
Флаг КНР
Новый политкорректный язык
В Европе выступили с предложением заменять некоторые гендерные термины более политкорректными словами. Обсуждали христианские имена и слово «Рождество».
Штаб-квартира Еврокомиссии
В Техасе исключают английский из числа официальных языков
В городе Фармес-Бранч Штата Техас отменили закон, признающий английский язык на официальном уровне.
Флаги Штата Техас и США
Проставление апостиля для легализации документов
Под процедурой подразумевается получение особенного штампа — апостиля, который подтверждает подлинность документа.
Проставление апостиля
group-2
group
group-3
group-4
group-6
group-8
group-7
group-9
group-10
group-5
group-copy-31
group-copy-32
group-copy-33
group-copy-34
group-copy-37
group-copy-39
group-copy-40
group-copy-41
group-copy-52
group-copy-30