The Internet is all about languages

The Internet is all about languages

The T-Index or how to choose the right potential e-marketplace for your services

Only the most simple-minded reader doesn’t realise that e-commerce on the internet takes all the details into account. Take languages. It would seem simpler: if the site is Russian, put Russian by default and do business in it. But no. There is a tool such statistics T-index, which takes into account, if I may say so, «solvency» of a particular language on the Internet spaces.

Why T-index is important

The T-index has a percentage expression of how often, who and how people shop online. Experts have derived several rankings which can be of great help to those companies which focus on consumer demand (which is practically everyone). The T-index contains 3 main indicators: the number of paying users, the language in which they communicate, and the average GDP per user. For the latter, it is not the usual gross domestic product, but a hypothetical statistical value of electronic purchases made by a nation.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call us at +375 44 768-88-02:
+375 44 768-02-88
+375 29 257-14-58
You can see the price of our services in section Prices

How it works

All you need to do is browse through the rating table and select the languages with the highest T-index. For instance, based on the data you get, translating a website into 10 languages will attract 80% of e-commerce buyers, and translating into 3 languages: English, Chinese and Japanese will attract 50%. Sounds tempting, doesn’t it? But apart from the bright prospects, there are pitfalls, which we will discuss a little later.

English is the universal translator

Among its brethren, English is the absolute champion with a T-index of 35%. And it’s not just a beautiful number, it is supported by an almost half-billion-paying population of the Web with an average «value» of nearly $40,000 per user. Thanks to US expansion, English is firmly established as an international language not only in business, but also in official and public spheres. Twenty-four nations, even Africa, have chosen it as the language of international communication over the many dialects and accents of their continent. This is why English is a universal translator, bringing together the most varied countries and nationalities.

In second place is Chinese, with its simplified writing system (10.7 % and 13 155 USD of GDP). A justifiable result for the land of the rising sun, communist ideals and rapid prosperity through mastering the latest technologies.

Third place in the ranking is shared by Japan and Spain. Their T-index is 7% each and Japan leads in Internet GNP per capita ($36,724) compared to Spain’s $24,615. This is despite the fact that Spanish is spoken in 21 countries and Japanese only in Japan.

Russian comes in a respectable 8th place out of 20 other languages. Its T-index is 3.3% and $24,475 of GDP.

Censorship is the first stumbling block

Surprisingly, even in our developed 21st century, in the era of globalization and glasnost, there is still such a thing as censorship of Internet content in terms of the breadth of information distribution. It means that the idea of censorship is not bad at all, because along with useful information, it is possible to encounter unhelpful information, especially for children. By censorship we mean an artificial restriction of content by the state. Of course, China and Muslim countries such as Iran, Iraq, etc. are famous for this (see Fig. 1). (see Figure 1).
When planning to enter these markets, one has to take into account the following peculiarity.

English is not a panacea

It would seem: translate your website into the language and start resting on our laurels. But no. The 35% T-index may be surprising on its own, but there is only one way to realize its full commercial potential: you need a pool of potential markets in English and a free zone in which they can communicate. To put it simply: start your trade not from a continent, but from an island with access to seas and oceans. If the potential English-speaking market does not have access to other English-language resources, your translated site, even in flawless English, may not reach your goal.

In this regard, experts advise considering the following factors

checking the demand for your product or service in local markets of all English-speaking parties;
Meeting technical, customs, health, sanitary and other government requirements;
Analysis of competitor activity in local markets;
adaptation of your products to local characteristics and customer preferences;
the international status or authority of the country you intend to enter;
the presence or absence of government censorship of the Internet;
Analysis of the Internet payment methods available in the country.

Here is a practical example. A European company has a website aimed at an English and Spanish audience. The company is thinking about expanding its services. Thanks to the T-index, it is easy to identify a potential market: China. The Japanese market is also interesting. And here the company faces the following problem: which Chinese language should be preferred. As we know, there are two main varieties: Simplified Chinese (ranked second in our ranking), which is officially adopted in most of China and in Singapore. There is also the traditional script, which is used in Hong Kong (Xianggang). Macau and Taiwan. Taking into account government censorship of the internet, analysts have concluded that only the Singapore market, or the first version of the Chinese language, is promising. But Singapore’s market compared to Japan’s T-index is 0.13 percent to 7 percent, so the obvious next conclusion is to translate the site into Japanese, leaving Chinese for better times.

So we can see how easy it is to apply the T-index, but weigh all the factors involved. Although it could be called a new tool, the T-index is a handy indicator of the attractiveness of a particular market to potential service providers.

Literary translation
The complexity of literary translation lies in the fact that it is necessary not only to convey the meaning of the text, but also to preserve the uniqueness of the author's style.
Литературный перевод
Foreign languages ​​and their impact on income
The knowledge of additional languages increases job applicants' salaries by up to 48%. So which language is worth learning?
Делай деньги
The new politically correct language
In Europe, there was a proposal to replace some gender terms with more politically correct words. Christian names and the word "Christmas" were discussed.
Штаб-квартира Еврокомиссии
Texas eliminates English as an official language
The city of Fermes Branch, Texas, has repealed a law recognising English as an official language.
Флаги Штата Техас и США
Apostille affixing for the legalization of documents
The procedure means obtaining a special stamp - an apostille. He, in turn, confirms the authenticity of the document, its signatures and seals.
Проставление апостиля
group-2
group
group-3
group-4
group-6
group-8
group-7
group-9
group-10
group-5
group-copy-31
group-copy-32
group-copy-33
group-copy-34
group-copy-37
group-copy-39
group-copy-40
group-copy-41
group-copy-52
group-copy-30

Интернету языки разные важны

Интернету языки разные важны

Т-индекс или как правильно выбрать потенциальный е-рынок для своих услуг

Лишь самый простодушный читатель не догадывается, что в электронной коммерции в Интернете учитываются все детали. Возьмем, языки. Казалось бы что проще: если сайт российский, ставь русский язык по умолчанию и веди дела на нем. Ан нет. Есть такой инструмент статистики Т-индекс, который учитывает, если можно так выразиться, “платежеспособность” того или иного языка на Интернет-просторах.

Чем важен Т-индекс

Т-индекс имеет процентное выражение того, как часто, кто и как делает покупки в Интернете. Специалисты вывели несколько рейтингов, которые могут очень пригодиться тем компаниям, кто ориентирован на потребительский спрос (а это, практически, все). Т-индекс содержит 3 главных показателя: количество платежеспособных пользователей, язык, на котором они общаются, и усредненный ВВП на одного пользователя. Относительно последней величины, речь идет не об обычном валовом внутреннем продукте, а о некой гипотетически-статистической величине электронных покупок, совершаемых представителем той или иной нации.

 По всем вопросам, вы может проконсультироваться по телефону:
+375 44 768-02-88
+375 29 257-14-58
Стоимость услуг вы можете узнать в разделе Цены

Как он работает

Достаточно просмотреть таблицу рейтинга и выбрать самые эффективные языки, имеющие высокий Т-индекс. Например, исходя их полученных данных, перевод сайта на 10 языков мира позволит привлечь 80% от всего количества электронных покупателей, а на 3 языка: английский, китайский и японский – 50 %. Звучит заманчиво, не так ли? Но помимо сияющих перспектив здесь есть и свои подводные камни, о которых мы расскажем немного позже.

Английский язык – универсальный переводчик

Среди своих собратьев английский – абсолютный чемпион с Т-индексом в 35 %. И это не просто красивое число, оно подкреплено почти полмиллиардным платежеспособным населением Сети с усредненной “стоимостью” каждого пользователя почти в 40 000 долларов США. Благодаря экспансии США, английский язык прочно занял место международного не только в деловой, но и в официальной и государственной сферах. 24 государства, даже Африка, выбрали его языком межнационального общения на фоне множества наречий и говоров своего континента. Поэтому английский можно назвать универсальным переводчиком, объединяющим самые разные страны и народности.

На втором месте красуется китайский язык с упрощенной системой письма (10,7 % и 13 155 долларов ВВП). Оправданный результат для страны восходящего солнца, коммунистических идеалов и стремительного процветания за счет освоения новейших технологий.

Третье место рейтинга делят японский и испанский. Их Т-индекс составляет по 7%, а по доле интернет-ВВП на душу населения Япония лидирует ($36 724) против $24 615 Испании. И это при том, что на испанском языке говорят 21 страны, а на японском только в одной Японии.

Русский язык занимает почетное 8 место из 20 остальных языков. Его Т-индекс 3,3% и 24 475 долларов ВВП.

Цензура – первый камень преткновения

Удивительно, но даже в нашем развитом XXI веке, в эпоху глобализации и гласности, сохраняется такое понятие, как цензура интернет-контента в терминах широты распространения информации. То есть сама идея цензуры совсем неплоха, ведь наряду с полезными сведениями, в Сети можно наткнуться и на неполезные, особенно детям. Говоря о цензуре, мы имеем в виду искусственное ограничение контента со стороны государства. Этим славится, разумеется, Китай и мусульманские страны: Иран, Ирак и др. (см. Рис.1).
Планируя выйти на эти рынки, надо учитывать такую особенность.

Английский язык – не панацея

Вот казалось бы: переводим свой веб-сайт на этот язык и начинаем почивать на лаврах. А вот и нет. Сам по себе Т-индекс в 35 % может, разумеется, удивлять, но раскрыть его полный потенциал для коммерческого применения можно лишь в одном случае: совокупности потенциальных рынков на английском языке и свободной зоны их взаимодействия. Если проще: начинать свою торговлю надо не с континента, а с острова, имеющего выходы к морям-океанам. Если потенциальный англоязычный рынок не обладает доступом к другим англоязычным ресурсам, ваш переведенный сайт даже на безукоризненный английский язык может не достичь поставленной цели.

В этой связи специалисты советуют учесть такие факторы:

  • проверка спроса вашей продукции или услуги на местных рынках всех англоязычных участников;
  • выполнение технических, таможенных, медицинских, санитарных и остальных требований государств;
  • анализ активности конкурентов на локальных рынках;
  • адаптация вашей продукции к местным особенностям и предпочтениям покупателей;
  • международный статус или авторитет страны, куда вы собираетесь выйти;
  • наличие или отсутствие цензуры Интернета государством;
  • анализ способов оплаты через Интернет, доступных в этой стране.

Приведем практический пример. У европейской компании веб-сайт ориентирован на английскую и испанскую аудиторию. Компания подумывает о расширении ареала своих услуг. Благодаря Т-индексу, легко определяется потенциальный рынок: китайский. Также интересен японский. И здесь компания сталкивается со следующей проблемой: какой именно китайский язык следует предпочесть. Как известно, есть две его главные разновидности: с упрощенной системой письма (занявший второе место нашего рейтинга), который официально принят в большей части Китая и в Сингапуре. Также есть с традиционной системой письма, которым пользуются в Гонконге (Сянган). Макао и на Тайване. Приняв во внимание цензуру Интернета со стороны государства, аналитики сделали вывод, что перспективен лишь рынок Сингапура, или первый вариант китайского языка. Но рынок Сингапура в сравнении с Т-индексом Японии идет в пропорции 0,13 % к 7 %, поэтому очевидный следующий вывод: переводить сайт на японский язык, оставив китайский до лучших времен.

Итак, мы видим, как легко применять Т-индекс, но взвешивая все сопутствующие факторы. Хотя его можно назвать новым инструментом, Т-индекс является удобным показателем привлекательности того или иного рынка для потенциальных поставщиков услуг.

Художественный перевод
Сложность художественного перевода заключается в том, что необходимо не просто передать смысл текста, но и сохранить уникальность авторского стиля.
Литературный перевод
Иностранные языки и их влияние на доходы
Знание дополнительных языков повышает зарплату соискателей порой на 48%. Так какой язык стоит учить?
Делай деньги
Удивительные факты о китайском языке
Китайский язык набирает популярность для изучения. Что еще нужно знать об интереснейшем языке?
Флаг КНР
Новый политкорректный язык
В Европе выступили с предложением заменять некоторые гендерные термины более политкорректными словами. Обсуждали христианские имена и слово «Рождество».
Штаб-квартира Еврокомиссии
В Техасе исключают английский из числа официальных языков
В городе Фармес-Бранч Штата Техас отменили закон, признающий английский язык на официальном уровне.
Флаги Штата Техас и США
Проставление апостиля для легализации документов
Под процедурой подразумевается получение особенного штампа — апостиля, который подтверждает подлинность документа.
Проставление апостиля
group-2
group
group-3
group-4
group-6
group-8
group-7
group-9
group-10
group-5
group-copy-31
group-copy-32
group-copy-33
group-copy-34
group-copy-37
group-copy-39
group-copy-40
group-copy-41
group-copy-52
group-copy-30