Saving time in translation

Saving time in translation

The urgency of a translation is one of the most important criteria for the success of this type of service. One way or another, a translator has to find extra reserves in order to meet the deadline set by the client. If in a quiet atmosphere, a translation would take approximately 5-6 days, in practice, we have to squeeze it down to 4 or even 3 days.

An experienced translator has in his/her professional arsenal of skills, which can dramatically increase the amount of work performed without any significant loss in quality. Although you won’t be able to use these methods full-time, they can help you get your texts delivered on time.

Rush translation: pros and cons

Not all translators are prepared to accept rush jobs, choosing to focus on maximum quality at the expense of higher pay. Urgent translations are quite a specific type of service. To provide it in a professional manner, you need to be highly organized and very communicative. The customer sometimes overlooks the small imperfections of the finished work in order to focus on the essentials.

Urgent translation is an opportunity to earn more, since the client simply has no time to look for a cheaper translator. However, deadlines are a constraint on everything. Not everyone knows how to combine quality and speed in translation.

Time-saving factors

When placing an urgent order, you are not expected to achieve the highest level of craftsmanship, but a reasonable level of translation quality should be maintained at all times. There are three main factors which affect the speed:

Subject matter. Complex technical text with lots of terms is not the best option to speed up. Otherwise, you may make fundamental errors which will cause the end result in your being rejected by the vendor.
Quality of the original. The source text itself may contain various inconsistencies and illiterately worded places. Digging in the database and working through not quite close to the subject matter can take a lot of time.
Translator’s qualifications. The more quality translations you produce, the higher your skill level is.

How can you mitigate these factors and speed up translation? Learn, learn, and learn again. Only through extensive experience and constant self-development will you become a true professional. 2-3 pages of text per hour is the objective limit for a translator. You can write faster but you can hardly think faster. Even the most urgent assignment must be done deliberately. It is better to extend the deadline than to give the customer a low-level job.

Literary translation
The complexity of literary translation lies in the fact that it is necessary not only to convey the meaning of the text, but also to preserve the uniqueness of the author's style.
Литературный перевод
Foreign languages ​​and their impact on income
The knowledge of additional languages increases job applicants' salaries by up to 48%. So which language is worth learning?
Делай деньги
The new politically correct language
In Europe, there was a proposal to replace some gender terms with more politically correct words. Christian names and the word "Christmas" were discussed.
Штаб-квартира Еврокомиссии
Texas eliminates English as an official language
The city of Fermes Branch, Texas, has repealed a law recognising English as an official language.
Флаги Штата Техас и США
Apostille affixing for the legalization of documents
The procedure means obtaining a special stamp - an apostille. He, in turn, confirms the authenticity of the document, its signatures and seals.
Проставление апостиля
group-2
group
group-3
group-4
group-6
group-8
group-7
group-9
group-10
group-5
group-copy-31
group-copy-32
group-copy-33
group-copy-34
group-copy-37
group-copy-39
group-copy-40
group-copy-41
group-copy-52
group-copy-30

Экономия времени при письменном переводе

Экономия времени при письменном переводе

Срочность перевода – один из важнейших критериев успешности оказания подобного вида услуг. Переводчик так или иначе вынужден искать дополнительные резервы, чтобы уложиться в срок, установленный заказчиком. Если в спокойной обстановке на перевод было бы затрачено условно 5-6 дней, то на практике приходится ужиматься до 4, а то и 3 дней.

Опытный переводчик имеет в своем профессиональном арсенале навыки, при помощи которых можно резко увеличить объем выполненной работы без существенной потери в качестве. Постоянно использовать такие методики не получится, однако периодически они могут выручать для своевременной сдачи текстов.

Срочный перевод: за и против

Не все переводчики берутся за срочные заказы, отдавая предпочтение максимальному качеству в ущерб более высокой оплате. Срочный перевод – довольно специфическая услуга. Чтобы оказать ее на профессиональном уровне, нужно обладать высочайшей самоорганизацией, а также развитой коммуникабельностью. Заказчик порой закрывает глаза на мелкие огрехи готовой работы, что позволяет акцентировать все внимание на основных вещах.

Срочный перевод – это возможность больше заработать, ведь заказчику просто некогда искать более дешевого исполнителя. Однако над всем довлеют сроки. Не каждый умеет совмещать качество и скорость перевода.

Факторы экономии времени

При срочном заказе от вас не ждут покорения вершин профессионального мастерства, однако приемлемый уровень качества перевода должен поддерживаться неизменно. Три основных фактора, которые влияют на скорость работы:

  1. Тематика. Сложный технический текст со множеством терминов – не лучший вариант для ускорения. В противном случае можно допустить фундаментальные ошибки, после которых заказчик попросту вычеркнет вас из списков исполнителей.
  2. Качество оригинала. Сам по себе исходный текст может содержать различные нестыковки и неграмотно сформулированные места. Копание в справочниках и прорабатывание не совсем близкой тематики может занять уйму времени.
  3. Квалификация исполнителя. Чем больше качественных переводов вы выполнили, тем выше уровень ваших навыков.

Как нивелировать влияние этих факторов и ускорить перевод? Учиться, учиться и еще раз учиться. Только богатый опыт и постоянное самосовершенствование сделают вас истинным профессионалом. 2-3 страницы текста в час – это объективный предел для переводчика. Вы можете быстрее писать, но вряд ли можете быстрее думать. Даже самый срочный заказ должен выполняться осознанно. Лучше продлить срок сдачи, чем предоставить заказчику работу низкого уровня.

Художественный перевод
Сложность художественного перевода заключается в том, что необходимо не просто передать смысл текста, но и сохранить уникальность авторского стиля.
Литературный перевод
Иностранные языки и их влияние на доходы
Знание дополнительных языков повышает зарплату соискателей порой на 48%. Так какой язык стоит учить?
Делай деньги
Удивительные факты о китайском языке
Китайский язык набирает популярность для изучения. Что еще нужно знать об интереснейшем языке?
Флаг КНР
Новый политкорректный язык
В Европе выступили с предложением заменять некоторые гендерные термины более политкорректными словами. Обсуждали христианские имена и слово «Рождество».
Штаб-квартира Еврокомиссии
В Техасе исключают английский из числа официальных языков
В городе Фармес-Бранч Штата Техас отменили закон, признающий английский язык на официальном уровне.
Флаги Штата Техас и США
Проставление апостиля для легализации документов
Под процедурой подразумевается получение особенного штампа — апостиля, который подтверждает подлинность документа.
Проставление апостиля
group-2
group
group-3
group-4
group-6
group-8
group-7
group-9
group-10
group-5
group-copy-31
group-copy-32
group-copy-33
group-copy-34
group-copy-37
group-copy-39
group-copy-40
group-copy-41
group-copy-52
group-copy-30