Different names for Poland

Different names for Poland

For many foreigners, the name of the state in Central Europe — Poland — seems to be the only one that exists. But there are several other less common names that may still be in use today.

The names Sarmatia or Scythia were applied by the Greek geographer Claudius Ptolemy in the 2nd century BC. The lands that stretched from the Black Sea to the Vistula River and the present-day Baltic Sea were only so called in those days. This territory was equal to practically all modern Eastern Europe. A little further east was Scythia, a name associated with Poland. A little later it began to be associated with Russia.

Bulaniya Poland began to be called at the end of the 1st millennium A.D., when its territory in written sources was indicated as «Polonia» or «Bulaniya». The version with the letter «p» is preferable and more accurate. It is related to the name of the representatives of the West Slavic tribes — Polane. The ethnonym came from the word «pol’e», which translates as «open territory, field». The inhabitants of these places themselves were called «people of meadows, fields».

Lengyelország, Lenkija or Lechistan are the names of modern Poland in Hungarian, Lithuanian and Ottoman. They are united by a common origin — the word «lengyel» («Poles»). This is how the Hungarians referred to the West Slavic tribe of the Lendzians or Lachs. The place of residence of this community was the region of Greater Poland in the West, or the present territory on the border between Poland and Ukraine. Little information has survived about the people of that time. Historians link the origin of the name with the word «lęda», which means «land cleared for farming in the woods», indicating that the landlords used slash-and-burn agriculture.

The Rzeczpospolita may still be called by some Poles. In the 15th century this was the name of the state which united the Kingdom of Poland and the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. It encompassed what is now Poland, Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania, parts of Russia, Latvia, Estonia, Slovakia and Moldavia. A couple of centuries later, the Polish Kingdom became the largest power in Europe, with a population of many millions.

Our team has been working on the market for more than 10 years and has successfully completed more than 5000 projects on translation into foreign languages.

Our average query response time is 15 minutes. Please make your query more specific for us to make our response more swift.

Translate From*
Translate To*
Literary translation
The complexity of literary translation lies in the fact that it is necessary not only to convey the meaning of the text, but also to preserve the uniqueness of the author's style.
Литературный перевод
Foreign languages ​​and their impact on income
The knowledge of additional languages increases job applicants' salaries by up to 48%. So which language is worth learning?
Делай деньги
The new politically correct language
In Europe, there was a proposal to replace some gender terms with more politically correct words. Christian names and the word "Christmas" were discussed.
Штаб-квартира Еврокомиссии
Texas eliminates English as an official language
The city of Fermes Branch, Texas, has repealed a law recognising English as an official language.
Флаги Штата Техас и США
Apostille affixing for the legalization of documents
The procedure means obtaining a special stamp - an apostille. He, in turn, confirms the authenticity of the document, its signatures and seals.
Проставление апостиля
group-2
group
group-3
group-4
group-6
group-8
group-7
group-9
group-10
group-5
group-copy-31
group-copy-32
group-copy-33
group-copy-34
group-copy-37
group-copy-39
group-copy-40
group-copy-41
group-copy-52
group-copy-30

Разные названия Польши

Для многих иностранцев название государства в Центральной Европе — Польши — кажется единственным существующим. Но есть еще несколько менее распространенных наименований, которые могут употребляться и в наши дни.

Названия Сарматия или Скифия были применены греческим географом Клавдием Птолемеем во 2 веке до н.э. Земли, которые разместились от Черного моря до реки Вислы и современного Балтийского моря, в те времена называли только так. Эта территория равнялась практически всей современной Восточной Европе. Немного восточнее располагалась Скифия — такое наименование и ассоциировалось с Польшей. Немного позже его стали соотносить с Русью.

Буланией Польшу стали называть в конце 1 тысячелетия н.э., когда ее территорию в письменных источниках указывали как «Полонию» или «Буланию». Версия с буквой «п» предпочтительнее и точнее. Это связано с названием представителей западнославянских племен — поляне. Этноним пошел от слова «pol’e», которое переводится как «открытая территория, поле». Сами жители этих мест назывались «людьми лугов, полей».

Lengyelország, Lenkija или Лехистан — наименования современной Польши на венгерском, литовском и османском языках. Их объединяет общность происхождения — слово «lengyel» («поляки»). Так венгры обозначали западнославянское племя лендзян или ляхов. Местом проживания общности был регион Великая Польша на западе или современная территория на границе между Польшей и Украиной. Информации о людях того времени практически не сохранилось. Историки связывают происхождение наименования со словом «lęda» — «очищенная под пашню территория в лесу», что говорит о применении лендзянами подсечно-огневого земледелия.

Речью Посполитой до сих пор могут называть свою страну некоторые поляки. В 15 веке так обозначалось государство, объединившее Королевство Польское и ВКЛ. Оно располагалось на территории современной Польши, Украины, Беларуси, Литвы, частично России, Латвии, Эстонии, Словакии и Молдавии. Через пару веков РП стала крупнейшей державой Европы с многомиллионным населением.

Ответим на Ваш запрос в течение 10 минут! Скидка 10% на услуги перевода при оформлении заказа через данную заявку на нашем сайте. Скидка действительна при заказе от 10 переводческих страниц или документов.

 

Перевести С*
Перевести На*
Художественный перевод
Сложность художественного перевода заключается в том, что необходимо не просто передать смысл текста, но и сохранить уникальность авторского стиля.
Литературный перевод
Иностранные языки и их влияние на доходы
Знание дополнительных языков повышает зарплату соискателей порой на 48%. Так какой язык стоит учить?
Делай деньги
Удивительные факты о китайском языке
Китайский язык набирает популярность для изучения. Что еще нужно знать об интереснейшем языке?
Флаг КНР
Новый политкорректный язык
В Европе выступили с предложением заменять некоторые гендерные термины более политкорректными словами. Обсуждали христианские имена и слово «Рождество».
Штаб-квартира Еврокомиссии
В Техасе исключают английский из числа официальных языков
В городе Фармес-Бранч Штата Техас отменили закон, признающий английский язык на официальном уровне.
Флаги Штата Техас и США
Проставление апостиля для легализации документов
Под процедурой подразумевается получение особенного штампа — апостиля, который подтверждает подлинность документа.
Проставление апостиля
group-2
group
group-3
group-4
group-6
group-8
group-7
group-9
group-10
group-5
group-copy-31
group-copy-32
group-copy-33
group-copy-34
group-copy-37
group-copy-39
group-copy-40
group-copy-41
group-copy-52
group-copy-30